In my christian lifestyle I have chosen one word to focus on for 2014!

One Amazing Word!

It’s here! January 1, 2014! I survived another year! But this new year is really going to be different than the last one! I’m getting better at being under “spiritual attack” and my self esteem is no longer in small amounts! I have a bucket full now! Not bragging or anything but just totally amazed that it has happened to me! 

I know that 2014 is going to be the most awesome year ever! I have been praying for 2014 since around June of 2013! I also prayed that anyone who is involved with me will be affected with change also! I really want it to be a year of giving God all the glory, honor, and praise! Watch out! I’m coming through!

So I saw this book called “My One Word’. I read the back cover and it said to choose one word that represents what you most hope God will do in you and focus on that for a year. I didn’t have the money at the time to buy the book but will purchase it before the end of the month. (I will be so thankful when this illness I’m dealing with goes away! I can only hold my head up for about twenty minutes then its back to the couch to sleep some more!) So I became obsessed thinking about one word, what word? What word would I choose? I prayed, I thought, I thunk, I thinked, I did everything you can imagine trying to figure out what word and yes I prayed some more! I have let several months go by and before I knew it, there it was…the end of the year has arrived! So I figured now was a very good time to make a decision! What WAS my word going to be? Well….here it is…!

                                                                             SERVE

Yep! That is it! I thought about servant, service, but serve it is! I started to learn about serving others in 2013 and I feel like I have only scratched the surface. Jesus served others. We are to die to ourselves and put others first. I read that somewhere! But this scripture sums up what I think I am ready to embark on! A life of service to others! A life of serving Jesus!

 

John 12:26 (NIV)

26 Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

Here is another translation I like also!

John 12:26 (MSG)

26 “If any of you wants to serve me, then follow me. Then you’ll be where I am, ready to serve at a moment’s notice. The Father will honor and reward anyone who serves me.

The Message translation says to be ready to serve at a moment’s notice. I think that is the way it should be when you are a christian, to be ready at any given moment to serve God and to serve the needs of others! I think there is much I can learn about the word serve in my life. I can learn to serve others and I can learn to serve God! Are they not the same? I guess this year will be the year to seek God’s face through serving! 

Thanks for the prayers and thanks for listening!

Sharon

 

Leave a comment